FAQ - General Baseball rules

Here are some Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) regarding general baseball rules.

Q: What is the ruling if the ball hits the ground as it is pitched?

A: If a pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.

Q: Is the hand considered part of the bat?

A: The hand is not part of the bat. Many people think that the hand is part of the bat and that a player shouldn't be awarded first if hit in the hand. This is incorrect. As long as the batter is attempting to get out of the way and is hit in the hand, then the correct call is to award the player first base.

Q: What happens if a pitch touches a players clothing but not the players body?

A: As long as the uniform is properly fitting, the batter should be awarded first base.

Q: What is the ruling if a pitched ball hits a batter and then hits the bat?

A: Once the ball hits the batter, the ball is dead and the batter should be awarded first base.

Q: Can a player be awarded Hit by Pitch (HBP) on a strike?

A: If a player gets hit while swinging it's called strike and not HBP. Also if the batter leans into the strike zone and gets hit it's not a HBP - it's a call strike.

Q: Must a batter-runner must turn to his right after over-running first base?

A: The batter-runner may turn left or right, provided that if he turns left he does not make an attempt to advance. An attempt is a judgment made by the umpire. The requirement is that the runner must immediately return to first after overrunning or oversliding it.

Q: What is a foul tip and how should it be called by the umpire?

A: A foul tip is a batted ball that goes sharp directly from the bat to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. A foul tip is always a strike, regardless of the existing ball-and-strike count on the batter. If the batter already has two strikes, the foul tip is the third strike and the batter is out by strikeout.

As a reminder Bedford Babe Ruth does not want anyone (managers/coaches, players, or parents) questioning an umpire's judgment call. The call is the call. If the issue is a rule interpretation you must have your rule book and the special rules and be able to point to the specific rule in question - we expect this to happen rarely and if it does happen we expect it to be done in a none threatening manner. We expect that if any parent spectators become an issue the manager and coaches will handle the situation, and if the umpire has any concerns with a spectator they should address that concern to the managers and coaches.

Thanks you for your cooperation!

Confirm Delete
Click the delete icon again to confirm. Click escape to cancel.